GliderRacing.com
Welcome Guest Search | Active Topics | Members | Log In | Register

User defined waypoints Options
bushav
Posted: Thursday, January 10, 2013 3:54:15 PM

Groups: Member

I am pretty new to this but trying to learn. It appears that tonight (day 366) some of the turn points are user defined. This makes it impossible to load task in my PNA. Is there something I am overlooking or am I correct. I like using/learning my PNA during these races so not being able to define the task takes some of the fun away. If I am incorrect please advise me as to my issue.
Dan Daly
Posted: Friday, February 01, 2013 5:52:44 AM

I agree - "new TPs" raises the bar for someone trying to learn an external PDA. Only .cup turnpoints should be used.

It would also be nice to have a schedule of sorts - for example, on "x" day of the week, it will be AATs (so those who are not equipped to fly them (those who have to use Condor's internal PDA)) can know in advance what nights they will have free, rather than waiting until an hour before to find out they have the night off to fly an offline task. This already done for the Saturday Grand Prix - you know in advance what it will be. Simply extend the known scheduling to another night.

Configuring a external PDA is neither simple nor intuitive for some (probably older) pilots. I am 80% there after spending tens of hours trying to sort out wireless and the Dell Streak (I worked for a month - about 30 hours trying to do Condor/Bluetooth and gave up). Next, I hope to sort out Condor to nav... probably achievable by the start of the Canadian real-life season.

How could USNS be improved for me?
- Consistently using TP database recognized TP's
- Announcing what weeknights (i.e., Tue/Wed etc) AATs are planned would make USNS attractive for me to fly (so I could avoid AAT nights).